Devon SpLD (Dyslexia) Service

Devon's provision for pupils with Specific Learning Difficulties (dyslexia) is based here at Queen Elizabeth's School. It is run by Ann Atherton and Deborah Lynch, experienced and expert specialist teachers, and supported through Devon's Dyslexia Strategy Group, chaired by Jeanette Savage (SEN Advisory Teacher).

Ann and Deborah currently teach students from across Devon previously identified with severe SpLD (dyslexia) who cannot be supported in their local Secondary School. They also provide an Outreach Service for Devon. The Service focuses on supporting schools to meet the needs of children struggling with severe literacy difficulties.

WHAT CAN WE OFFER YOUR SCHOOL

Whole Staff Dyslexia Friendly Classrooms training
Teaching Assistants and SENCO workshops exploring intervention strategies
Individual Student Assessments and reports
Devon Inclusion Award (Dyslexia)
Primary Dyslexia Networks
Secondary Dyslexia Networks
Small library of Specialist resources (linked to individual student'sneeds)

Training

We can offer training tailored to the needs of your school, Federation, Academy or Learning Community in the following areas:

Spring 2018

Individualised Reading Interventions – two day course
Friday 19th January Part 1
Friday 2nd February Part 2
9.30-12.00

Spelling and Phonics
Friday 26th January
9.30-12.00

Assistive Technology
Friday 9th February
9.30 – 12.00

Assessing for Dyslexia – two all day courses
Friday 23rd February Part 1
Friday 2nd March Part 2
9.30-3.00

Report Recommendations
Tuesday 13th March
9.30 – 12.30

Supporting Struggling Writers
Friday 16th March
9.30-12.00

Individualised Reading Interventions – two day course
Friday 27th April Part 1
Friday 11th May Part 2
9.30-12.00

Report Recommendations
Tuesday 15th May
9.30 – 12.30

Supporting Struggling Writers
Friday 18th May
9.30 – 12.00

Spelling and Phonics
Friday 25th May
9.30-12.00

Assessing for Dyslexia – two all day courses
Friday 8th June Part 1
Friday 15th June Part 2
9.30-3.00
Cost: £170.00

Spelling and Phonics
Friday 29th June
9.30-12.00 

Courses are held on QE's Western Road Campus . Please sign in at Reception on the relevant site and you will be escorted to the appropriate rooms. Parking on-site at Western Road is not permitted, but Mid-Devon's long-stay car park in St Saviour's Way is just a few minutes' walk from the site. Please contact Sharon Morgan on s.morgan@qe.devon.sch.uk for any further information or to book a place on any of the above courses.

Devon Outreach Information

Request for Access Eligibility Criteria for SpLD
Request for Access
Devon Dyslexia Policy June 2015
Dyslexia Helpline Poster
Working Memory Difficulties Parents
Working Memory Difficulties Staff
Reading at home
Helping with homework
How can I help my child
Assessing for Dyslexia
What Is Dyslexia
Emotional Support for Dyslexic Students
How can I help my child with spelling
Supporting Dyslexic Students in the Classroom
Visual Stress